Tags

, , ,

This post shamelessly borrows from a well-known Christmas poem. This is one event that made Christmas special with my lads. Thanks to I love Christmas FB page for some great photos! 

T’was two weeks before Christmas, when all through my house

Not a young lad was stirring, not even a mouse.

The cutters were laid on the table with care,

In hopes that five busy boys soon would be there.

/

/

10626240_10152709447248724_1756900762359679223_oThe children still nestled all snug in their beds, 

While visions of gingerbread danced in their heads.

And I in my apron, all cover’d with flour

And just finished the dough for some fun cooking hours.

/

When out in their room there arose such a clatter,

I sprang from my chair to see what was the matter.

Away to their bedroom I flew like a flash,

Tore open their door and threw up the sash.

/

The light on the face of new-waken boys

Gave the lustre of candy now eaten so coy,

As, what to my wondering eyes should appear,

But a chocolate sleigh, and eight candy reindeer.

/

With mischievous smiles, so lively and quick

I knew in a moment these boys knew some tricks!

But smiling with patience,  a grin gave to them.

And I whistled, and shouted, and called them by name!

“Now Angels! Now, Snowmen! Now, Brown Trains and Bright Stars!

Now Santas! Now Green Trees! Now Red Canes and Blue Cars!

Boys fast to the kitchen, to the frosting of all,

Now dash away! Dash away! Dash away all!”

/

As pyjamas and clothing that before the wild hurricanes fly,

Boys who rush meet with an obstacle, mount and go by.

So out to the kitchen, excited they flew

With the room full of laughs, for St. Nicholas, too.

Family photos 1

And then, in a twinkling, I plac’d all I can Family photos 35

Each cutter and pressing in each little hand

As I roll’d all the dough for each cookie around,

All the odd-shaped boys’ gingerbread came with a bound.

Then each dressed all in sweets, from each head to each foot

And their clothes were decorated with candy and loot

A bundle of gum bears there -flung on some backs

And some looked like a peddler just opening a pack

/

Family photos 3Those eyes-how they twinkled ; With sparkles -so merry

Their cheeks were real smarties;  a nose was a cherry!

Their droll little mouths were drawn up like a bow,

And a beard on a chin, icing white as the snow.

/

Black stumps of a pipe they held tight in fake teeth,

Smoke black licorice encircled a head like a wreath.

Made with a flat face but a little round belly,

That broke, jammed with smarties when ate by a felly!

Snowmen chubby and plump, like right jolly old elves,

And I laughed when I saw them in spite of myself!

A chip for their eyes and a twist for their hair

Soon filled up the place, there was nothing left bare.

 Family photos
Boys spoke oh so loud, but went straight to their work 

They iced all their cookies, then turned with a jerk

/

And laying their fingers inside of each bowl,

And licking each one, too much to be told!

I spoke with a smile, and went straight to my work, 

And boxed all the cookies, then turned with a jerk.

And placing each filled box to each little son

And giving a nod, to our mess- we were done!

We sprang to our car, to each friend gave a parcel,

As away we all flew like a sleigh on a Red Bull!

How they heard us exclaim, ‘ere we roared out of sight,

“Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good-bite!”

NOW:

 Will grown sons take on this time honoured rite,

Taking their children to new gingerbread heights?

Oh,  I’ve heard ’em exclaim on gingerbread baking-

We’re sending each grandchild to grandma for making!

