Tags

, , , ,

Oh, but do you recall…the most famous….♪♪

I’m quite sure you finished the line of that song.

When I ‘accidentally’ come across classic Christmas cartoons on TV, I still pause to watch.

What is it with these Christmas cartoons that resonances even with adults?

Well, there is life truths in every cartoon.

Life values and life challenges are woven into an enthralling story with a magical innocence.

Take Rudolph. He is humiliated and rejected because he is different. After acceptance by his ‘misfit’ community of friends, he shares a scary life changing adventure.

Only after his inherent value of being himself is affirmed does he re-embrace his family’s and community’s welcome.

Every year, I re-watched Christmas cartoons with my children, delighting in their starry-eyed responses.

When my late in life child arrived, I was thrilled to revive the magical adventure, transported by animated characters that teach us eternal truths through their lively spirit and songs.

 

Rudolph; Charlie Brown; Mr. Magoo ; The Grinch; Drummer Boy ; Frosty.

Each character revives a sentimental remembrance to Christmas’ past.

Christmas cartoon specials foster the wonder of Christmas, and the celebration of family, friendship and faith.

No small wonder they shine in our memories.

