Tags

, , ,

Bees and butterflies and ladybugs- oh my!

This summer, I’m busy pointing out backyard insects for my granddaughter, some to touch, all to appreciate. 

It appears most people really hate these ‘bugs’ but, I find them quite amazing.

I became fascinated with insects in my first university biology lab. Fascinated really doesn’t cover it. Exploring my options, I considered a career as an entomologist. I was particularly interested in creating ways to avoid the use of pesticides.

Life happens, and I ended up raising sons instead of raising ‘bugs’.

bee plant flowers signBut, I continued to be intrigued by biology and life’s abundant and vibrant variety.

Which rather irritated my science experimenting young sons.

 

 

As they frequently reminded me, when frozen wasps are in a freezer container to test the theory of cryogenics, a mother is suppose to freak if she pulls one out thinking it’s lasagna, not ask how the wasps are  revived.

When cocoons are hanging around the porch, a mother is suppose to immediately sweep them all away, not take a turn watching for them to open.

When bees are carefully lassoed to track exactly how many flowers they pollinate in five minutes, a mother is suppose to say- You’ll get stung- not ask to see the bar graph.

Insects are a essential part of life, especially in pollination.

When my granddaughter requests we open the compost bin to pick up long squishy worms for her to touch, ever so softly, I am more than pleased to comply.

Teaching the value of maintaining healthy life in even the smallest of creatures is a lesson best taught early.

Spiders and wasps and bees and ladybugs and butterflies and ants- oh my, how essential and amazing are they all!

Related Articles

Foods we’ll lose without saving the Bees 

Ontario Concern Over Declining Bee Population

