Tags

, , , ,

“We do not read and write poetry because it’s cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion. Medicine, law, engineering; these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love; these are what we stay alive for.” – spoken by Robin Williams as Mr. Keating.

The Dead Poets Society is a film that embodies the importance of carpe diem, seizing each and every day for all its opportunities, despite the tragic ending of both the movie and the life of Robin Williams.

To honour the passing of Robin Williams, who will be remembered as a man who seized every opportunity to make laughter,  I offer you a poet’s blog to make you smile.

For, in missing Robin Williams with his unique sense of humour, I can well imagine him reminding us all to live our lives in crescendo, with laughter every day.

Tom Balistreri describes himself in his poetry blog From Balderdash to Epiphany, in a poem, of course:

I enjoy writing poetry.
Which surprises no one more than me.
I have a schizophrenic style,
sometimes romantic,
mostly for smiles.
Sometimes I write my poems in prose.
But I don’t create many of those.
I really like to make up rhymes.
A style, like me,
from olden times.
Alliteration, free verse, Haiku,
I’ll try any style,
if I’m in the mood.
I won’t pad my bio,
or make up lies.
The truth is I’m just a strange old guy.

Tom creates often hilarious poetry with a surprise ending, seizing every opportunity every day to make his fans laugh.

Just as did Robin Williams. RIP

Carpe Diem.

 

 

 

 

