Tags

, , , ,

1013929_436396786468158_1817148901_nNew blogs are sprouting up everywhere!

As many recent followers are a new ‘sprout’, I’d like to offer some blogging help and blogs to follow.

I’ve written before on blogging as blogger and blogging as reader.

But, there is one more element.

 

The Gravatarmail-4

That’s mine- over there.

As many bloggers simply put their face photo as their Gravatar, what’s up with mine?

First, as I’m sure you are aware, an “avatar” is an image that represents you online—a little picture that appears next to your name when you interact with websites.

A Gravatar is a Globally Recognized Avatar. You upload it and create your profile.

Why would you want one?  As a blogger, you’ll read many blogs. Many of those posts will resonate with you. How to tell the blogger that? LIKE it! When you participate in any Gravatar-enabled site, your Gravatar image will automatically follow you there. We’ll know who you are.

Who cares? We do. Your blogging community.

Bloggers inhabit an ever-expanding blogosphere where we interact and learn from one another. In this community, we’ll know you by your Gravatar, just as surely as if we saw you walking down the street.  Often enough, an intriguing Gravatar will propel me over to that blog, especially if it is attached to a comment on a post.

Make your Gravatar represent you, and your blogging.

If you have a look around, you’ll see some pretty creative original ones.

Not being an artist, I bought mine.  

I experienced an intense response to music, both playing and listening, when I was young.  Years ago, I read the motto live life in crescendo. It so resonated with me, it become my blog name. Despite proficiency with the computer, I always begin any mail-4new writing in a hard cover book. As I calmly write down ideas during my budding blue phase, enthusiasm bursts into a furious flash of words. Writing becomes like a melody, where each instrumental word plays their part. As the writing enters the finishing yellow, tiny grace notes enhance the theme of the post.

My Gravatar represents not only my writing experience. It continually reminds me that if I just keep ahold of that pencil, ideas will flame and flourish.

Choosing a Gravatar takes some thought, just like choosing a blog name.

Choose wisely

After determining your blog name and your Gravatar, head over to Older Eyes, who is currently posting a helpful series of blogs on setting up a WordPress blog. Bottledworder recently posted on how online blogging is different. Her blog is worth checking out. Additionally, there is the ever helpful Daily Post on Word Press  to follow. A recent post on developing your blogging voice is an essential.

Bloggers everywhere know all blogging is an ongoing growth process.

To those who have just begun blogging, a warm welcome to our community.

Trust me, it’s going to be fun.

