Tags

, , , , , , ,

376556_475299245816712_2097705997_nAfter Freshly Pressed featured my post Aging Well last week, readers offered testimonials of those living it. These role models with a zest for aging well include an 80-year-old ice skater,a 95-year-old tennis player, and an 84-year-old father still traveling. Less you think aging well means physical feats, consider Barbara Buttmann-Gee who finished her university degree in her 70s, and completed her MA at 81.

While I blog on a myriad of topics, I am particularly pleased a post on aging well was honoured.

Several years ago, after returning to university to finish my degree (post here), I  presented for a course an hour seminar I named: Stomp Out Ageism.

Ageism isn’t about aging, for aging is not a life option.

Ageism is about ignoring the hidden potential for aging well in what William Sadler terms The Third Age, the life bonus years.

When a child is asked how old they are, they boldly reply:

“I am four and a half“.

They are so passionate about aging they are already anticipating their next age. Children age well, with enthusiasm.

While aging itself ensues with continuous challenges, aging well ensues with purpose and passion. Betty Friedan likens aging to a fountain. An apropos image as fountains maintain a continual and constant outflowing and inflowing.

As readers know from my first post, I believe that each of us plays a unique melody in this ballad of life. We can age well with passion and purpose, if we live our life well-played. As many comments expressed, experiential age supersedes chronological age. 

Thanks to all for appreciating that the essence of aging well is to flow within our age, with enthusiasm.

