Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Which would you prefer? A tree or a tombstone?

This is a Bios Urn, a completely biodegradable urn that contains a single tree seed. When planted, the tree seed may absorb the nutrients from the ashes. The urn itself is made from coconut shell and contains compacted peat and cellulose. The ashes are mixed with this, and the seed placed inside. You can even choose which type of tree you’d like to grow.

I appreciate this idea, which takes the trend of being cremated and the ubiquitous memorial benches to a new level.

But, what if the tree dies?

I confess that I never thought I’d be the kind of person who would wish to go to a cemetery to ‘visit’ a loved one.

And yet, on a beautiful sunny day, I will sit beside my mother’s cremation plaque visiting with her. I chose this cemetery for its breath-taking beautiful view of mountains. These mountains uniquely bond my mother and me. I chose to move far away to live in this city because I couldn’t stay away from them; she chose to move to this city because she couldn’t stay so far away from me.

Our mutual love for these mountains bonds us now in a way nothing else can. 

Visiting a cemetery is the perfect place to sit and to remember that life is all about relationships, our intimate bonding with others.

Amazingly, it is a life-affirming place to be.

